top of page

"You Judge Too Hard"


“I really don’t like him. He’s an idiot.” To be honest, I probably dropped an f-bomb or two in there.


“That was harsh, don’t you think?” She looked at me with a shocked expression as if I had never said anything like that before.


“He’s rude and arrogant. He’s obnoxious and needs a foot up his ass to teach him how to behave like a real human being. No, I don’t think I was being harsh. I was being honest. I don’t like him being around.”


“You judge people way too hard,” she said.


And she’s probably right, at least by today’s standards, which in my opinion have grown way too lax. You see, I judge others by the same plumb line I use to judge myself. I’m not expecting different behavior from others that I don’t also expect to give back. I expect decent behavior. Of course, that means that by today’s standards I am expecting way too much.


You see, I expect things such as common courtesy, good manners, and decent behavior. Furthermore, I expect it from children as well as adults. Now, I may make certain allowances for little children. They’re still learning, after all. However, teenagers know better and if they don’t then their parents need spanked. Or worse. Probably worse. No, definitely worse. Much worse.


Manners are not old fashioned, out of date, or oh, so last year. They make a difference in how people perceive you. They open doors and smooth ruffled feathers. “Uh huh” and “Yeah” are not proper responses. They’re a sign that we’ve become lazy in our speech and I judge laziness.


We need to teach our young ones how to properly interact with other human beings. That means put the technology down and communicate. Don’t isolate yourself in a room full of people and ignore them. I don’t agree with the adage “Children should be seen and not heard.” If I see them, I want to hear them. Perhaps not bouncing off the walls, but a participant in what is going on around them. They won’t get over their shyness if you allow them to hide while in a crowd.


Furthermore, we need to teach them how to surround themselves with quality people and not idiots. Whether you agree with me or not I tend to judge people based on the company they keep. I don’t hang around those who thrive on drama and I will shy away from those who do associate those people. I also choose not to deal with those who are constantly throwing pity parties and this includes relatives. If your life is really that miserable all the time, you’re doing something wrong. I understand going through a tough period, but not year after year. Besides, I have discovered that most of life is about perception and attitude. You can make it through anything with the right attitude, even if it doesn’t come out the way you want it.


I also have a hard time trusting people who associate with other people I know to be untrustworthy. It is far easier for people to pull you down to their level than it is for you to pull them up. Therefore, I surround myself with people I can look up to and not down at.


And don’t look at me like that. There are people you look down at, as well, whether you want to admit it or not. That doesn’t mean you’re a bad person, unless it’s because of race, gender, sexual orientation or culture. But idiots are idiots and I refuse to be politically correct towards them. It’s like our welfare system. I have no qualms about people using it to help better themselves with the goal of getting out of the system at some near point. I do, however, have issues with people who make it a career choice. And yes, I judge them.


Parents who don’t take care of their children, people who stick their nose in where it doesn’t belong, people too lazy to get off their asses and work, and politicians are people I judge. I judge them because I’m not allowed to smack them upside the head with a 2 x 4.


And I refuse to associate with them. How people can continue to associate with people they do not respect, I can’t understand. My life is about harmony with the people around me and if they don’t add to that, then it’s time for us to part ways. So yes, I do judge harshly, but my life and the lives of my family are worth it. I make no apologies.



~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page