top of page

NaNoWriMO – Sibling Rivalry

This November will be my first year participating in NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month. I’ve heard of it for the last few years and some friends and even our daughter, Heather, has told me to participate. My excuse in the past is that I didn’t wish to be pressured to write so many words on any one project. I’m more the type that has several fires going at once. Currently I have six manuscripts in one form or another. However, this year, I decided to give it a go.

For those who may not know what NaNoWriMo is, and I’m not saying I’m an expert, because there is still so much about it that I am unclear on, allow me to explain what I do know about it. The goal is to write a book, 50,000 words, in thirty days. Now, from what I have read the word count could include everything written that has anything to do with the book, from character backgrounds to setting to plotlines. I don’t want to play that way. I want every word I write in November to be toward the actual manuscript. I want a complete book done by the end of the month that only needs to be revised before it’s ready to go.

Starting November first, I will be putting all of my other projects to the side for thirty days and focusing solely on Sibling Rivalry. The idea has been one that I have batted around in my skull for a couple of years, creating some characters and plot ideas, but I’ve been too focused on the Rutherford series as well as the Warrior of the Way books to really focus on it. However, now is the time. I’ve signed up and created my NaNo page and even have a couple of writing buddies to help cheer me on.

I’m nervous, however, and I’ll tell you why. In the past, every time I have set a goal, Life has decided to laugh at me. Things in the kids’ lives went haywire or something happened and we had to travel or a million other things. There is a good and bad side to working from home and for yourself. Sometimes, people just think I’m here goofing off and it’s not a real job. Trust me it is and quite often a frustrating one.

So, this year, I’m stepping out, making it a goal and participating. So, allow me to take a moment to tell you about Sibling Rivalry so you can help cheer me on and hold me accountable. And for those of you expecting to see Roll the Dice come out next, don’t worry, it’s still on its way. For now, however, meet the Harper sisters.

RobbieCox-72dpi-1500x2000 (1).jpg

Aimee Harper is the eldest of the Harper girls, conservative, shy, and is only looking for someone to notice who she is inside and love her for that. Karla, however, sees her body as a tool to manipulate men into giving her what she wants when she wants it. Sex is a commodity to be traded. She doesn’t want love. She wants a luxurious life. The two sisters live in the same apartment building as Clint Asher and his daughter and both sisters take an interest in Clint, but for different reasons. Thus, the rivalry begins and I’m already feeling sorry for Clint.

Throughout the month, I’ll be posting some teasers and updates. I hope you keep coming back and seeing how far the word count has grown. Furthermore, cheer me on. With your encouragement, I have no doubt I can reach the goal and even surpass it.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Until next time, keep chasing your fantasies.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page