top of page

Halloween Goes Politically Correct


If you’ve been following me on any of my various social media sites or reading this blog for any length of time, then you are well aware I am not a great believer in being politically correct. I think it has made sissies out of most people and is used as a get out of jail free card for anything people do not care for. Bag boys become packaging technicians and trash collectors are now waste management officials. We are made to be afraid of offending anyone in anyway because, well, people are sensitive and we might hurt their self-esteem.


Well, the political correctness has even struck Halloween; at least, it has at the University of Colorado. On their web site you may read, “If you are planning to celebrate Halloween by dressing up in a costume, consider the impact your costume decision may have on others in the CU community.” Their goal is to avoid cultural references that some may be trying to avoid or find unappealing, such as overly sexualized identities like squaws or geishas or stereotypical roles such as cowboys and Indians. They also recommend you do not have offensively-themed parties such as ghetto or white trash/hillbilly parties or those suggesting sex work or crime.


I never thought of a cowboy as a crude stereotype, but apparently it is. Should cowboy hats now be banned? I suppose children are now no longer allowed to play cowboys and Indians in the backyard or cops and robbers because robbers would be a negative name and would have to be avoided. Personally, I trust a robber more than most police officers as at least I know their honest in their law breaking. Too many officers are law breakers with a badge. Furthermore, should Hollywood now be banned from making movies that characterize these cultural references and further putting them before the people?


Why have people become so ashamed of their heritage? It is where we have come from and while it may not be who individuals are today, it is still a legitimate part of history. I don’t see dressing up as a cowboy or Indian as ridicule but more of a celebration of the past. Now, dressing up as white trash or a hillbilly is probably to make fun of the stereotype, but I also doubt those being ridiculed would understand it. I mean, do white trash people really know they are white trash? I doubt they stand up and yell, “Hey, stop making fun of me. I’m proud of being white trash.” I could be wrong, but hillbillies would be the same. I mean Duck Dynasty is a major hit on television and in Wal-Mart’s all over the world. They’re not insulted. They’re profiting.


Stop being so damn sensitive! Get over it! I don’t get angry when someone calls me Honky. I just think they are very outdated in their insults. I am tired of keeping up with what everyone is supposed to be referred to these days because they are trying to shake their past images. Who you are as a person today is what matters. Embrace your ancestors and be proud of how far you have come. Stop looking back and keep moving forward, but do it without the whining.


And just for the record, I am not old. I am well-seasoned and properly aged.



~ ~ ~ ~~

コメント


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page