top of page

Prelude to Major Messing


The adventure begins at midnight. If I wasn’t so worried about the kids driving through the night, it would begin as soon as the last one got off of work and spruced themselves up. Don’t need to be trapped in a car for twelve hours with a smelly, sweaty person who just got off duty. I’d leave now and it doesn’t matter that our cabin isn’t technically ready until 3pm tomorrow. I’d find something to keep this group busy until then. I’m just ready to get on the road and get going.


The idea for the trip came about last October. I’m not even sure how it was brought forth, except I wanted a family trip. Teri’s family has always done a giant family reunion and while there are certain relatives I wouldn’t want to spend a weekend with, I love the idea of family getting together and enjoying each other. A reunion isn’t like visiting family at other times. No, it’s about celebrating the generations and history that runs through your blood. That appeals to me, so I tossed the idea out that we should try it with the kids this year. Never ones to pass up a vacation, the girls jumped on it.


Before the day was out, they had picked a cabin at Elk Springs Resort in Gatlinburg, Tennessee that would hold fifteen people comfortably. The cabin had five bedrooms, five bathrooms, a pool table, foosball table, hot tub, fireplace and all the other normal amenities. We’d never have to leave the place, which suited me, just fine.


The call then went out to the kids with times, dates, and locations. Everyone was in and the cabin was booked. For the next six months, there were late nights sitting around planning and dreaming, searching the web and making menus. The subject may have been dropped for a week or two here and there, but it always picked right back up with an “I can’t wait for our trip!” Everyone was excited, and yes, that’s an understatement.


And that brings us to today, the day before the trip. The girls took the day off to get everything ready. I pretended to work, but really all I did was reorganize my idea notebooks. I did get a haircut and wash the car, but as far as writing goes, I’m too keyed up. It’s always this way before a trip and why I just want to get in the car and be on our way. I’ll try to nap beforehand, so I can drive through the night, but it won’t work. I’ll toss and turn and wake up more tired than when I laid down. It’s a waste of time.


Besides, I want to squeeze every moment out of this trip. I’m that way wherever we go. I want to be there early to midnight to gain two hours, and I’d bump it up again if I could. I can nap when I get there. Right now, I just want to jump into the Mess.


* * * * *

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page