top of page

Easter Eggs at Halloween


Confession time: Muse Unleashed has been the book I’ve struggled the hardest to write, and to be honest, I’m not even sure why. I had the concept, the cover, the characters; what I didn’t have was the idea. Or the inspiration toward one. Now, I could blame Covid, the passing of my mom, the constant trips back and forth to Alabama, but Muse Unleashed is my eighth book this year, so obviously, I’ve been able to write. However, for whatever reason, this one book has been just out of my reach, and it frustrated me to no end.


So, I started making fun of myself with it while I wrote it. It still has all the other components of a Paranormal Romance with a HEA, but it is a little on the lighter side compared to my other books. I also found that the more I made fun of my struggle to write the book, the more the words flowed from my fingers to the typewriter. It was then that I started to have even more fun with it by placing Easter eggs inside the story.


Not sure what an Easter egg is in this context? Let me share an explanation I found online. “To put it simply, movie Easter eggs are hidden references, clues, or inside jokes that have been inconspicuously (and sometimes not so inconspicuously) placed into TV shows, video games, and movies.” Marvel is great at doing these. So, I decided to do it with a book, Muse Unleashed. Depending on how well you know me or how long you’ve followed me will determine how many you catch, but nestled within the story are several nuggets about myself, my writing habits, and stories past, present, and yet to come. And Maxwell’s struggle to write the story is extremely real.


Still, the story has been written and submitted, and I hope you enjoy it. In the end, the story was quite a bit of fun to write, because if you can’t make fun of yourself, you’re in big trouble, and anyone who knows me knows I pick on myself more than anyone else. There’s one more week to get Muse Unleashed for only 99 cents, so grab it now while you can before the price goes up. If you read it and notice some of these Easter eggs, send me a note telling me. I’d love to hear which ones you found.


Until then, Happy Reading

Robbie

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page